A Blog a Day, Miranda goes Climbing with Bear, and Taking Poppet out with Ken

By the powers vested in me by the existence of blogging, my internet connection, and the fact that i can read and write and have a laptop I AM GOING TO BLOG EVERY DAY FOR NOVEMBER!

Last time I blogged every day it was for migraine month. I think it went pretty well. In order not to alienate my existing readers and also not to bum myself out too much I stuck to a formula for that whereby I posted three things – one from the migraine prompts and two others, just to give things a bit of balance. I don’t set out to be a ‘migraine blogger’ or any other kind of a niche blogger either.

“I should be driven desperate if I knew who I was. I meet somebody who says “you’re this or that”, and I feel like I don’t want to be anything.” – Virginia Woolf  Selected Letters

I don’t know what the prompts for this NaBloPoMo are going to be like, I only just took a look at it. It was a bit of a faff doing all the linking and whatnot for the migraine month, but once I got the hang of it it was okay. Still trying to work out the ins and outs of this one, though, so bear with.

It would seem that wordpress always have a daily prompt. I would not usually be interested in such a thing, being the raving snob that I am, but I am suspending disbelief for the duration of this month. So here goes;

Daily Prompt

When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

Nice. Just jump straight in, won’t you? Weasel away at my deepest darkest private moments, please, just go for it. So there’s no dipping a toe in here is there?

Gently does it, then. OR NOT!

This is going to sound absolutely pathetic, but I feel absolutely bereft whenever I’m not with my dog. If I go somewhere without her I feel like something is missing – even if that thing is having my shoulder joint pulled out for the duration. ALSO, sometimes Poppet goes a little holiday to visit my good friend Ian, if, frinstance, I am too ill to look after her. She is what is known as a ‘velcro dog’ because she doesn’t often take alone time, so I am used to having her nearby at all times.

I’ve not been away from Londinium much over the past couple of years, but if Poppet is not invited or, say if I would have to go to somewhere abroad or whatever, I would be discombobulated to the max.

perhaps not the most glamorous shot, but a bit of a favourite of mine – pops relaxing on her back creates the most mad face. and for maximum funsies simply turn your monitor upside down. see? super funny.

I think the last time I had to go somewhere without her was a hospital appointment. I could have used her support. It was a psych appointment and I had to really let it all hang out. Which was alarming. I should have dressed her up as some sort of person… that, or make her a fake service dog outfit. I heard tell of someone who actually did that. Took her dog into shops and her untrained dog would wreak havoc, much to the annoyance of her friend who has a real service dog. Also, the outfit was really badly made. ::snork::

***

When I said bear with I was referencing Miranda Hart’s show Miranda in which she has a friend whose habit it is to pause the conversation with an authoritative “bear with” while she is on her phone. Typing it in to yootoob I didn’t get the example of her comedy stylings that I expected. What I found was a whole programme of her doing mountaineering with Bear Grills. You can see it here;

Which I think is rather good. If you like your survivalists mixed up with your comedians. Which I do. I mean, I get most of my news filtered through the medium of comedy, so you can imagine this is rather up my boulevard. If I must watch people battling the elements I’d rather at least one of them was a professional comedian.

***

So, what have I even been up to? Well, one thing I have been doing is playing hostess to one @lahikmajoe who is away on a wander with his mother up north and expected back sometime soon. He wrote this blog post to suck up to me.

ken had the idea that if he came with me to bethnal green we could take poppet. he and pops hung out here at lock 7 while i went to my appointment.

Ooh, isn’t their website nice? lock 7

Right. I am now going to try to see if a) I have done this right at all and b) I can bear to do whatever it takes to be *in* whatever this thing is…

bear with.

***

ETA I just found the NaBloPoMo prompt page which is here. I used the wordpress prompt for this, which is here. So, two totally different things. HOWEVER! all is not lost, since yesterday’s NaBloPoMo prompt was

Thursday, November 1, 2012
Tell us your favourite quotation and why.

and I just so happened to have included a quote! SPOOKY, RIGHT?

So! I am on course. As you were.

6 Comments

  1. Yay! A whole month of you-posts? I like this very much!

    Oh, the Poppet. Someday I will tell you all my pit bull stories, because Poppet reminds me of all of my pit bulls. Someday I will have a dog. It will be a pit bull. I have stories that go along with this. Poppet makes me so happy because every time I see her, she makes me think of Amy’s future-dog, and that’s something to be excited about.

    1. elaine4queen says:

      pops is a cookie cutter staffie.

      i just had to haul her in from the garden where she’d stomped on my nice plants because there was a cat on the wall. she is obsessed.

  2. lahikmajoe says:

    Your writing is delightful, Elaine. It helps that I know you in person and I was here for some of this, but I like to think anyone would get your humour.

    Show me how to do these WP prompts and I’ll do this blog-every-day lark alongside you.

    1. elaine4queen says:

      righto! it’s a bit complicated and i am not sure i’ve done it right…

      i still don’t know where you are supposed to share your posts.

      here’s where i started from – then ended up with umpty tabs open trying to figure it out http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/nablopomo-is-here-need-some-inspiration/

  3. Carol says:

    Aaaw, Poppet’s just gorgeous. We have a staffy too.
    Glad it’s not just me that found the whole Nablopomo thing a bit confusing, lol.

    1. elaine4queen says:

      I am pretty sure that my brain is about to explode. I haven’t been this confused since I signed up back in nineteen canteen for a livejournal account!

      When I wrote the blog yesterday I thought, well I know I haven’t done this ‘right’ or anything, but at least I’ve got the start date right, and I can fiddle with it tomorrow. Now that ‘tomorrow’ has come I am whimpering a little…

      Poppet is a very sweet girl. Typical staffie, all the way through.

Leave a Comment