Oh no, love, you’re not alone – I didn’t get one either

Years ago, my friend Susan sent me this valentine card. It has to have been 1979 or 80 which is weird because I thought it was from some other time, a bit later, when we were flatmates in Edinburgh, but I read the back for the first time in ages while I was photographing it for you. We shared flats three times over the years. I sort of thought it might go on forever. I’ve been guilty of eternalism, so it seems. This is not unusual, for me. I didn’t really keep a record of things. I must have seen hundreds of bands, many of them with Susan, and many of them multiple times. Do I remember who I saw and where? No. No, I don’t and it doesn’t even really help that I kept a diary a lot of that time, either. Not that it matters. I seem to have used my diary just to complain bitterly about my love life or lack of it. Silly cow.

IMG_0767

She made the card herself, of course. That’s her actual lips and her own lipstick from the cusp of the 80s. What a weird idea that I have a kiss from a friend all the way from back then. I must say, it hasn’t dated. What was ephemeral has been memorialised.

I laminated it at some point, and it has been blu tac’d up somewhere or other most places I’ve lived and I’ve lived in a few.

Coupla years ago Emma Hope gave me this groovy frame, and it’s ended up in there. I think it suits, do you? I mean, you can’t see the whole frame, but you get the drift. Here’s the other side of the card for you. More lips and a bit of biro, and the completion of the quote…

IMG_0764

Here’s the soundtrack to go with it, though looking at the message I could have reasonably offered you some Fire Engines or Orange Juice, but you can go find them yourself if you want to. Today is dedicated to all those who think they are alone because they bought the lie that romantic love trumps all.

Thanks, Susan!

(By the way, she’s not dead or anything dramatic, she just isn’t into having an internet presence, so there’s no story there, don’t look!)

No, love. You’re NOT alone.

And you don’t have to take my word for it, here’s David Bowie, and he wouldn’t lie, now would he?

6 responses to “Oh no, love, you’re not alone – I didn’t get one either

  1. bit shouty, no love? but it appears to have a migraine verse . . .

    heres the lyrics from:
    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/davidbowie/rocknrollsuicide.html

    Time takes a cigarette, puts it in your mouth
    You pull on your finger, then another finger, then your
    cigarette
    The wall-to-wall is calling, it lingers, then you forget
    Ohhh, you’re a rock ‘n’ roll suicide

    You’re too old to lose it, too young to choose it

    And the clock waits so patiently on your song
    You walk past a cafe but you don’t eat when you’ve lived
    too long
    Oh, no, no, no, you’re a rock ‘n’ roll suicide

    Chev brakes are snarling as you stumble across the road

    But the day breaks instead so you hurry home
    Don’t let the sun blast your shadow
    Don’t let the milk float ride your mind
    You’re so natural – religiously unkind

    Oh no love! you’re not alone
    You’re watching yourself but you’re too unfair
    You got your head all tangled up but if I could only make you care
    Oh no love! you’re not alone
    No matter what or who you’ve been
    No matter when or where you’ve seen
    All the knives seem to lacerate your brain
    I’ve had my share, I’ll help you with the pain
    You’re not alone

    Just turn on with me and you’re not alone
    Let’s turn on with me and you’re not alone
    Let’s turn on and be not alone
    Gimme your hands cause you’re wonderful [x2]
    Oh gimme your hands.

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

