Let or Hindrance, Tiger Worms, Meditations, and Berzerking.

I really did try to post every day, I promise… but I just went into this incredible migraine and allied trades wormhole and am only just crawling out of it now. You may have seen or got sent a link to about a dozen attempts to post the other day, but for some reason I couldn’t get round the fact that wordpress wouldn’t publish it in full. Very weird, and I tried lots of ways round it. Eventually I was just so exhausted I gave up and just saw it as part of the continuing cascade of things that go wrong. Hopefully this post will behave itself, and I will be able to share my thrilling insights with you without let or hindrance.

I am not entirely sure what let or hindrance really means, but it’s in the UK passport;

Her Britannic Majesty’s Secretary of State Requests and requires in the Name of Her Majesty all those whom it may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let or hindrance, and to afford the bearer such assistance and protection as may be necessary.

Which is sort of nice, I suppose. I wonder if I went abroad I might get better assistance and protection than I do here? Perhaps I will go somewhere nice and get asylum.

Anyway, bollocks.

***

One thing I have been *doing* off and on for the past few days is creating a multi-storey worm bin as inspired by new-to-me blog The Good Life. I already have bins, albeit that they are see through. All I needed to do was drill holes in them and play house with the tiger worms. In a house with two electric drills you’d expect there to be drill bits at the ready, but there was only one little one to hand so I asked my dad to bring one over. Which he did, but it was so blunt it was like the butter knife of drill bits, so on my way to my Bowen appointment yesterday I stopped in at the hardware shop on Broadway Market and got a nice sharp new one. When I get my wriggle on I will be completing the worms’ new home and I think I will feel quite pleased with myself.

the tiger worms when they first arrived. there are quite a few more now, i think they are having a good time.

***

Okay, that was weird, I just had another spooky wordpress moment there… I just posted a load of links about meditation and tried to save and the whole lot got eaten. Maybe by the worms? Who knows, but it’s beginning to freak me out, because I usually have ZERO problems with WP.

Here’s what I want to SHARE WITH YOU FFS!!!

1. Vidyamala’s Three Minute Breathing Space

Also highly recommended – her Body Scan and Kindly Awareness CDs here.

Good free stuff from Audio Dharma For beginners I’d recommend Gil Fronsdal. I particularly like Thanissaro Bhikkhu. Also, not to be too shallow, but he has a lovely voice.

I made a 20 minute Body Scan myself which is free. You can get that here.

My favourite teacher is Ken McLeod at Unfettered Mind. I follow him on facebook. This works pretty well for me. Sometimes I spend a day listening to a whole course.

Now, please WP, let me publish this before you send me completely berzerk.

6 responses to “Let or Hindrance, Tiger Worms, Meditations, and Berzerking.

  1. Wow. You’ve really been going through the wars this week! Hope you’re feeling better now – and that WP is behaving itself for you. I know the feeling. Sometimes it takes me all afternoon just to post a photo! And I know it’s not me. Do you think WP gets PMT?

  2. Let is an old word for obstacle. It’s the same let that’s used in tennis when the ball hits the net on serve.

    I have a second worm farm now, and my mother tells me she has a recipe for a worm fattener. I will have to report on its success (or not).

    • aha! i never knew what it was that they were shouting on the tennis! NOW it all makes sense.

      i don’t see why we need let AND hindrance. presumably a let and a hindrance amount to the same thing?

      i have spent the morning redrilling the holes for the bigger worms and moving more food, worms, twigs and composting matter into a new bin. i now have three stacking up and i still have enough for two or three left in the original bin. just as well i plan to to do more guerrilla gardening, otherwise i’d be worried about what i was going to DO with all this compost!

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

