I have a cold – I know, early uptaker!

I don’t even know how long I have had this cold now. Is it forever or forever and a day? Here, in the plague house we are kind of just waiting each other out to see who dies. It’s like the Shackleton expedition. But with more tissues. This morning when I blew my nose something resembling a smallish coral reef came out. It wasn’t pink, though.

And at such times, when energies are at their lowest, what better to do than to contact alldogsmatter to see if i can do a little fostering? Because, you know, in the middle of a cold when you are bedridden and can’t remember when you last ate, that’s the best time to take on looking after a troubled dog.

Looking at the dogs’ specs I thought Benson looked like a good candidate.

benson. a handsome middle aged staffie. laydeez beware!

I can’t offer him a forever home, OBVS! (NO, REALLY, TRULY, OBVS – don’t bait me on this!)

Alldogsmatter don’t have a pound. When you go see a dog it’s one at a time and in a foster carer’s house, so you see the dog as it really is and not in a cage surrounded by lots of hysterical unhappy dogs. It’s a good system. It’s how I got Poppet.  I Lo-ho-hoved the look of “Badger” the husky/collie mix, but I know my limitations. That dog needs someone, or a whole bunch of someones with a ton of spare energy. Benson, on the other hand, is a middle aged staffie lad, who Poppet will enjoy having around. He needs a foster carer by the weekend, so if it’s going to be me it’s going to be SOON.

badger. off limits to us, but what a gorgeous boy!

***

In I am the best daughter ever news, my mum got the Kindle today, and is super happy with it. Not bad for someone who, when asked what she thought of such a thing said NO. It was the simplest one available – much like the phone I got her – no camera, no internet, just phone and text. For a technophobe  she does seem to like gadgets that do something awesome but don’t have anywhere to get lost in.

***

Did anyone else see anything about this? It’s about an apartment in Paris which was locked up for the war and never lived in again. A friend on fb shared one pic, and I had to go find more. She was jonesing for the dressing table, but I think I’d prefer the mirror.

Apparently the press got excited when they found a valuable painting there, but for me that’s just a mislead. I wish the lady had left me the apartment in her will. I’d love to just go there, have a bit of a wipe round and a hoover and move in. Get the chimney swept and wifi installed, bingo!

2 responses to “I have a cold – I know, early uptaker!

  1. Aw, Benson AND Badger! I want them BOTH! Someday someday SOMEDAY I will get a dog!

    Oh, my. That whole place was just sitting there and no one knew about it until now? That is amazing! Think of all the things they’ll find! It’s so beautiful!

    • sooooo many lovely dogs! and it’s nice to be able to foster – gives something back without taking on a whole dog forever.

      i can’t help but feel that it would be better off in my hands, that flat.

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

