learning the hard way, the tranquil hermitage, and school dinners

Migraine Awareness Month #15:  Free Blog!  Blog an a Migraine related topic of your choice.

i have decided to use one of the three extra prompts today, since i have NO IMAGINATION right now.

Migraine Awareness Month:  “I learned the hard way…” We learn a great many things the hard way, through experiences that are often difficult and unpleasant. Of all the things you’re learned the hard way, what sticks in your mind the most?

it’s got to be the time i went to germany to have an operation for my migraines. it cost my dad a fortune, and made no difference whatsoever to my migraines.

i had my corrugator muscles taken out. this means i can’t really frown any more. the woman in the next bed got complete remission. i got zip.

“National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation. The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com.”

***

ha! i just gave someone on facebook a link to my blog, and facebook only knows why it chose to illustrate it with one of the hannibal lecter pictures from the other day. so – “welcome to the tranquility of my hermitage” seems very twisted indeed!

welcome to the tranquility of my hermitage

***

a little while ago i came across a kid who was documenting her school dinners as a blog. this morning i read this rather damning article – turns out that her blog went viral and the school authority, rather than saying WHAT HAVE WE LEARNED???? and coming up with – our dinners are crap, have decided to BAN her from bringing a camera to school.

“This morning in maths I got taken out of class by my head teacher and taken to her office. I was told that I could not take any more photos of my school dinners because of a headline in a newspaper today.

I only write my blog not newspapers and I am sad I am no longer allowed to take photos. I will miss sharing and rating my school dinners and I’ll miss seeing the dinners you send me too. I don’t think I will be able to finish raising enough money for a kitchen for Mary’s Meals either.”

one of martha’s school dinners

while writing the blog martha raised awareness about nutrition in her school and raised money for charity. boo to censorship! and further, what kind of message does this send to her and her schoolmates about freedom of speech?

ETA not only have the council backed down (over the course of a few hours) but also because of all the publicity martha has now raised £24 500 – she had £2000 already and was aiming for £7000!
you can read about the charity ‘mary’s meals’ and give a donation if you like here.

15 responses to “learning the hard way, the tranquil hermitage, and school dinners

  1. So… a young kid uses the internet to try to make things better and gets lambasted for it? I don’t believe they can legally stop her taking photos of her school lunches and writing about them, so if I were her I’d carry on anyway (but that’s me).

    There are operations to “cure” epilepsy too, but they aren’t 100% either. Even if I was a suitable candidate (I’m not – my seizures are too generalised and can start from anywhere) I don’t think I could handle the idea that part of my brain was being removed. And what if it “cured” my autism at the same time? I wouldn’t be me any more and that would be a disaster of Epic Proportions.

  2. Team Little Lunch Food Blogger! She sounds great.

    It is fascinating, though, the council. They obviously didn’t consult their media advisors before doing that.

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

