migraine triggers, resources for the apocalypse, and a tumblr collection

Migraine Awareness Month #3:   Just shoot me now! What’s your worst Migraine trigger? Can you avoid it? How do you handle it? 

sadly, for little me, pretty much anything in excess can trigger a migraine. i don’t know if this is because of my comorbid (what a word that is, comorbid, you know nothing good is going to happen when a word like that comes up) fibromyalgia or what, but i just flare at anything. this means that i spend a lot of time doing very little and also that i have given up doing lots of things that i love. one thing that i had to give up in it’s entirety is drink. how i would love a glass of wine or a pint of guinness now and then. do you know, even SNIFFING a glass of red makes me feel like someone has just smacked me in the face with a frying pan.

not worth it, just not worth it.

the fact that i no longer have an active social life that involves going out helps me handle it, as does the lack of interest in alcohol of many of my nearest and dearest.

time was when, if you had told me i would have to give up drink completely i would have been completely confused as to how you expected me to LIVE. but i gave it up about a decade ago and have been more or less better for it. there has been the odd occasion where i have thought i might get away with a glass. i was on holiday with friends and there was wine on the table every night with dinner. i did what in france would be considered something you do for children – i had half a glass topped up with water. even this was totally delicious and made me feel like i was joining in. i suffered no ill effects, so that was a WIN.

“National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation. The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com.”

***

it has come to my attention that we are even more obsessed with the zombie apocalypse now that a man has eaten a face. so it is just as well i saved this helpful article. which shows screen shots of google maps indicating where useful post apocalypse supplies are to be found.

of course, this assumes that there will be internet for the apocalypse, which is not terribly likely, so i should study these maps carefully in advance if i were you. maybe print some out. since my mum was a mormon when i was a teen, i am used to having an apocalypse cupboard in the house.

ahead of the curve, those mormons.

***

yesterday i made ten a tumblr collection. i have changed my theme on tumblr, so was flummoxed when i couldn’t make a day – based collection just by clicking like i used to. but eventually i figured out that if i entered the date by hand on the URL i could still curate a day’s collection like i could before. i am pleased about this, because i really like my new theme there and having customized it a bit to suit my colour preferences i would be sorry to have to find another one. so here it is elaine4queen.tumblr.com/day/2012/06/02

ten’s a fan of peter doig, but most of them are images he has either said that he likes or are to do with his interests, so a bit less arty than usual.

Peter Doig  Target. 2000 more here

4 responses to “migraine triggers, resources for the apocalypse, and a tumblr collection

  1. I used to suffer frequent migraines from the age of 13 right up until my mid-twenties. I eventually discovered that they were being caused by the contraceptive pill and I rarely get them now – but even all these years later, someone trying to tell me that it’s “Just a headache” will be stabbed in the eye with a rusty spork!

    • yay!

      this is what we need! rusty sporks!

      glad you don’t get them any more. think you’ve got quite enough on without them, thankyouverymuch!

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

