i heart tea

today’s tumblr is short, but it’s sweet. elaine4queen.tumblr.com/day/2012/04/26 containing, as it does, lots of hearts. and a surprise. or more than one surprise if you weren’t expecting to see human hearts. DOH! dammit…

also, you never know when you might need to remove a heart from a body, so there’s that. forewarned is forearmed.

today i had an exhausting outing, but ten came with me and walked the dog afterwards, and then i went back to bed with tea because on a day where i don’t do everything in the right order i like to go back to bed and start again. and by ‘doing everything in the right order’ i mean spending a while immersed in the internet. tom wolfe opens the painted word by quoting marshall mcluhan which, i believe, was a very fashion forward thing to do in 1974, since mcluhan has only become a really go-to theorist in the age of multimedia, as far as i know – though perhaps for film/tv students somewhat earlier. but, naturally, i digress. what mcluhan had said was that people don’t read the morning paper, they slip into it like a warm bath. we needn’t worry ourselves about what wolfe wrote next, though i liked the painted word and i liked from bauhaus to our house  too, for that matter. but isn’t that lovely? i will have read the painted word at some time in the early 80’s, when i was at art school, so THIRTY (for god’s sake) years ago, but that image of immersion has stuck with me all this time.

anyway, back to ME.  i wake up early, take my first tranche of medications, make a VERY LARGE mug of tea. and when i say ‘very large’ i mean it. the mug i use that time of the morning is just shy of a pint pot. plain white bone china. just the job.

i put some breakfast out for poppet, who often likes to eat and then go under the covers for a snooze. the dog is hardly chronically underslept, but who am i to argue with her logic?

i get back to bed with the laptop and, like a lady of the victorian era, i attend to my communications. this takes a while, and is an essential part of my morning, breaking the day gently in with words and pictures and TEA.

after this is done it is time to walk the dog, have breakfast and a bath. if all of this is achieved in a timely manner then all is well with the world.

6 responses to “i heart tea

  1. But you didn’t give the very important information..what kind of tea? (I sadly have tried to cut down a bit on my tea consumption, mostly because if I am drinking lots of tea, I am also drinking lots of sugar.) But I love tea.

    • just bog standard tea. from a bag. supermarket generic basic.

      i weaned myself off sugar in tea when i was working with a bunch of people who all took it without – it was easier just to be the same. now i only have sugar in tea if i feel i have had a FRIGHT.

  2. ‘i get back to bed with the laptop and, like a lady of the victorian era, i attend to my communications. this takes a while, and is an essential part of my morning, breaking the day gently in with words and pictures and TEA.’

    This made me smile broadly…Victorian lady, you.

  3. “If I feel I have had a FRIGHT” made me laugh right out loud.

    Today’s Tumblr was beautiful and I’m stealing so many of your images when I get home. I love hearts. But not stupid fake hearts. Real ones. So this made me so happy. Why people don’t realize the beauty in a real human heart and the fake stupidity in a comic-book cartoon heart is beyond me. The heart with only the veins is so beautiful! Like lace!

    • i really didn’t realize i had quite so many real hearts and so few love hearts. i am a sucker for anatomical stuff, and those lacy hearts are amazing, aren’t they? i have no idea how they do that.

      and the heart ready to dissect makes me want to cut in and see what might be going on inside.

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

