Swans for Breakfast

Standard

Sunday on the Riviera. Mid March, I suppose by now we’d be calling it spring. But, you know, there wasn’t a proper winter, so it’s sort of snuck up on us. And now, if it isn’t raining or cloud covered it’s blasting sunshine.

For the first time in a long time I took the dog up Tottenham Marshes, or at least just beyond the allotments and had a sit in the sunshine.

IMG_2411

I hesitate to say I was meditating, but I certainly found my sitting bones and sat quietly while the dog snoofled around.

During whatever goes on in winter we always get a few more people on a weekend up here, but if it is sunny it will get really busy, and there are hazards in the park with the dog, so although we played early this morning the afternoon walk had to be somewhere less populous. I was feeling a little fragile, not really up to totally policing the entire situation so was fully intending on short changing the dog and just going to the shops and back. However, on the way there we passed the entrance to the marshes, the one that doesn’t go along the canal, and I thought it would be safe enough to go a baby walk there.

What you can see in the photo are a series of fences and that orange dot at the top is a post for a life saving ring. Between the fences are the canal and a run off/river then beyond that bank, reservoirs.

Despite all the water we have been safe from floods this winter. I’ve kept an eye on it. I was registered with the Environment Agency for flood warnings but had to unsubscribe from warnings because I got fed up hearing from them and then looking out the window and seeing the water being a bit more choppy or more or less the same as usual. If there had been any risk it would have been from the sewers, and happily they know this, and there was a fleet of Dyno Rod vans who came for a visit a few months back.

Poppet was in her element. Lots of men in high vis hanging around in the street just waiting to say hello to her.

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

