Dream House, Swans as Pets, and My Current Wants

Standard

Friday, November 16, 2012

Would you buy your dream house if the price was right BUT you also were told it was inhabited by ghosts?

Absobloodylutely! Unless it had the bad feng shui, but then it wouldn’t be my dream house, would it? I’d like a space with lots of south facing windows, lots of heat and light. Low windows, reading nooks with the little day beddy thing in. Fireplaces and stoves. French windows – lots of french windows. Small rooms, big rooms. Rooms with connecting bathrooms, a walk in wardrobe, comfy furniture, space for making art, great views, animals outside and in. Plenty guest rooms, a music room, a viewing room. A room with a huge table and chairs all round for eating and for late night conversations. The forest, the sea side, crashing rock, soft sand… To get this kind of thing at my price, there’s pretty much have to be some deal breaking ghosts on my side.

Oh! And a swimming pool.

***

Since today I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo tired after Bowen, I’m going to cheat the rest of this post. But i will provide quality padding. These photos, for instance;

Quite simply ganked from tumblr wholesale, with the following caption;

A pet swan named Leila being helped into a car where it enjoys a ride to the shops. Its owner Mrs. Watson of Chesham, Buckinghamshire, says that Leila, who has been a family pet for two years, can open doors and is a good guard dog, England, 1936 *

photo by William Vanderson.

What I can add to the party is that Anna Pavlova had a pet swan, Jack. There is no record of whether she took him car rides, though. I doubt it. Taking your swan to the shops seems rather an English thing to do. I cannot imagine Anna Pavlova being that parochial. I could see her taking him somewhere fancy, though.

***

So, my apologies for being a bit *thin* (on paper, if not in life) today. I am quite borked. For some reason I seem to be in rather an acquisitive mood, though. I have been researching the Panache sports bra on the recommendation of my friend @Mockduck who runs. I don’t need ‘sports’ as such but I could use a softish non fancy bra that you don’t have to struggle to get into – and not only does this have back fasteners, but it has a fancy adaptor so you can wear it either scoop or sport back. AND IT COMES IN PINK. yasss! 

The other thing I find myself in lust with is the new Kobo Mini eReader, which is authentically pocketable, not tied to a particular seller (I’m looking at you, Amazon, you conniving greedyguts) and is available for £50. Although I tend to listen to audio books, my eyes are not as bad as they were since I came off Duloxetine, and I have enjoyed reading books when I have been away from home (and for home, read THE INTERNET). Although it was possible to go online the last couple of times I went away, I chose not to take this life with me, but to have a ‘real’ holiday (with small borrows just to check in).

Anyway, I’m not for jumping the gun right now. Tonight is all about chillin’ with my dawgie and watching bits of telly, playing Words With Friends, and listening to radio plays.

Happy rest of friday to you,

e4q

x

4 thoughts on “Dream House, Swans as Pets, and My Current Wants

  1. sammy

    I have two Kobo readers (their first one and their first touch screen) and I love them both – very lightweight; I can hold them in one hand while navigating my screens, easy to hold (the padded back is great) and yes I fully support the non DRM’ish (I also have sony pocket reader). of them.

    Wonderful swan photos. I will say though – swans (and geese) are just horrible when they are pissed. *shudder*

    • My only worry is that the tiny one would be TOO tiny – otherwise i am in. Pocket sized is just right for me, since I don’t carry bags.

      We have about 30 swans living right outside, but we don’t commune with them because they can’t get out this side of the water. They are the jumbo jets of birds, and need quite a long take off and landing on water. Unlike the geese who can jump jet. The heron ignoresPpoppet, but the geese sometimes try to ‘have it’ with her. She barks at the swans sometimes but they are always safe in the water.

    • Poppet once ‘wrestled’ a swan back into the water at Regent’s Canal. People were furious with me for my vicious dog, but all she was doing was manhandling it – if there was a proper fight going on it would have been a lot more bloody.
      Poppet just likes things to be where they belong!

I do answer comments, so please do tick the 'follow comments' option if you want an email telling you when I have replied. THANK YOU!

